Brad Martens named Employee of the Year

Brad Martens named Employee of the Year
Posted on 04/06/2018
Brad Martens and wife

Each year, the City of Lenexa’s Employee of the Year is chosen from more than 500 professionals who are dedicated to serving our community. This year, that honor goes to Master Police Officer Brad Martens.

Brad began his career with the Lenexa Police Department in 1990 and his assignments have included Patrol Officer, School Resource Officer, Detective, Field Training Officer and Crisis Negotiator.

Brad consistently demonstrates the values of the Police Department and the City of Lenexa with his positive attitude, team work mentality and empathy.

Police Chief Tom Honglso explains, “Brad embodies the values of a police officer and truly cares about the citizens of this community. He goes above and beyond to help them in any way that he can. Brad is highly gifted in his ability to communicate with others and de-escalate situations. He is commonly called upon to negotiate with troubled individuals in crisis. Brad is a mentor and leader and has had a positive impact on the community and the police department that is immeasurable.”

Previously, Brad was honored with the Police Department’s Commanders Award (Officer of the Year) and has received awards for Distinguished Service and Live-Saving.

In addition to Employee of the Year, a number of other staff members were honored for their work. Lenexa employee awards are centered around six shared core values:

Make every decision with integrity

  • Phill Gisel, Fire Department

  • Sean McLaughlin, Legal Department

  • Shannon Rader, Police Department

  • Kathy McCabe, Community Development Department

Deliver results through teamwork

  • Dustin Moore, Kevin Sellers, Danny Clark, Andrew Freisner, Kyle Segraves, Fire Department

  • LaDonna Myers, Police Department

  • April Beretta, Human Resources Department

  • Ted Korgol, Municipal Services Department

Be dedicated to excellence

  • John Forbis, Parks & Recreation Department

  • Carmen Chopp, Community Development Department

  • Chris Zheng, Community Development Department

  • Ryan Sumner, Police Department

  • Stephen Mustain, Municipal Services Department

Provide exceptional service

  • Colleen Bowen, Human Resources Department

  • Nia Barksdale-Bey, Parks & Recreation Department

  • Lance Johnson, Enterprise Systems & Technology Department

  • Jack Lollas, Fire Department

  • Jared Marshall, Police Department

Lead into the future with vision

  • Eric Schmitz, Police Department

  • Adrienne Galbrecht, Police Department

  • Julie Wittman, Communications Department

We Care

  • Richard Jett, Fire Department

  • Christa Kuchta, Police Department

  • Rob Hole, Fire Department

  • Tedlana Sawalich, Municipal Court

Department Value Awards

Three departments were also honored with department-wide values awards. They are: 

  • Service: Police Department

  • Dedication: Enterprise Systems & Technology Department

  • Teamwork: Parks & Recreation Department