Arts Council

Colorful artworkThe Lenexa Arts Council (LAC) is a volunteer board that began in 1979 by a group of volunteers seeking to enrich children’s arts experiences. In 1980, it became an official city-supported board.


The Lenexa Arts Council provides quality arts programs and events to awaken an appreciation of the arts, to create a special sense of place, and to enhance quality of life for our community members.

Board Members

The Arts Council has nine members who are appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council. Members serve three-year terms. They meet on the third Tuesday of each month. Current board members are: 

  • Emily Behrmann (Feb. 29, 2024)

  • Dale Trott, Chair (Feb. 28, 2026)

  • Jess Collins (Feb. 29, 2024)

  • Wayne Dothage (Feb. 28, 2025)

  • Cheryl Kimmi (Feb. 29, 2024) 

  • Anne Lawrence-Cherry (Feb. 28, 2026)

  • Judy Tuckness, Vice Chair (Feb. 28, 2025)

  • Jennifer Wampler (Feb. 28, 2026)

  • Claire Ward (Feb. 28, 2025)

Arts Council meeting agendas and minutes

Apply for a position on the Arts Council

Contact Information

Susanne Neely, 913.477.7131, [email protected]