Mayor Boehm honored with excellence award

Mayor Boehm honored with excellence award
Posted on 10/11/2022
Mayor Boehm holding award

Lenexa Mayor Michael Boehm was honored with the E.A. Mosher Excellence in Local Government Award by the League of Kansas Municipalities during a ceremony on Oct. 10, 2022 at the Overland Park Convention Center.

The E.A. Mosher Excellence in Local Government Award is presented to elected city officials who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the city they serve, an active commitment to strong local government and service to the League of Kansas Municipalities. Named in honor of E.A. Mosher, League Director from 1960 to 1991, this award is designed to honor excellence and leadership at the highest level.

“Mayor Boehm is a visionary leader and is well deserving of this recognition,” said Lenexa City Manager Beccy Yocham. “Lenexa has experienced unprecedented growth and consistently high citizen satisfaction ratings during his tenure as mayor.  He has given generously of his time and talent to the City of Lenexa and numerous other worthy causes which have shaped Johnson County and the state of Kansas. We are delighted that the League of Kansas Municipalities and its members acknowledge his leadership and his many contributions to local, regional, state and national public policy.”

Boehm has served Lenexa for three decades and played an integral role in the community’s strategic growth. He was elected mayor in 2003 and has been reelected continuously since his first term. He served on the Lenexa City Council and Lenexa Planning Commission prior to becoming mayor.

Boehm is a lifelong resident of Lenexa and actively serves numerous community organizations including Johnson County Community College Foundation Board Executive Committee, Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, Mid-America Regional Council Board of Directors, Lenexa Chamber of Commerce, Lenexa Historical Society, Johnson County Community College Carlsen Center Program Advisory Committee and Holy Trinity Catholic Church.

He is a member of the League of Kansas Municipalities Board of Directors and was President of the organization from 2005-2006.

Published Oct. 11, 2022