Police Community Advisory Board


The Police Community Advisory Board creates an avenue for greater understanding between police and the community and promotes public input in the Department’s policies, strategies and priorities. Discussions focus on contemporary challenges that impact our community and Police Department.

The Board helps build public trust in a manner that promotes inclusivity, participation and stewardship of the Police Department and community values. Members analyze department strategies, facilitate community relationships and share constituent perspectives and concerns. They provide knowledge and perspectives that enhance community spirit and increase accountability for efficient and equitable service delivery for all community members.

The Board acts solely in an advisory capacity and addresses issues associated with police-community relations, the improvement of the Lenexa Police Department’s operations and public safety issues to further enhance the quality of life in our community. The Board may be asked to review police-related incidents and may provide advice to the Police Department in light of community expectations and in accordance with Kansas data privacy laws. The Board will not receive or review complaints initiated against police personnel and shall have no authority to investigate or otherwise participate in personnel matters involving specific police personnel. The Board will not play a role in civil or criminal litigation.


The Police Community Advisory Board has at least four regularly scheduled meetings each year. Special meetings may be held as often as deemed necessary. All meetings are open to the public, except as provided by Kansas law.

Minutes and agendas

Copies of upcoming meeting agendas are typically available the week before the meeting date. Minutes of previous meetings are available after they are approved at the following meeting.

Current members

The Community Advisory Board has seven members who are appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council.

  • Vanessa Vaughn West (term expires Dec. 31, 2024)
  • Eric Arner (term expires Dec. 31, 2024)
  • Rachel Lauren-Parker Mulvihill (term expires Dec. 31, 2024)
  • Jeff Boone (term expires Dec. 31, 2025)
  • Geoff Garcia (term expires Dec. 31, 2025)
  • Milton Jeffrey (term expires Dec. 31, 2026)
  • Alice Batista (term expires Dec. 31, 2026)